

THE CORPORATION OF THE

TOWN OF GEORGINA

Special Council Minutes

Date: Tuesday, November 15, 2022 Time: 7:00 PM

| Members of Council Absent: | Mayor Margaret Quirk Regional Councillor Davison Councillor Biggerstaff Councillor Fellini Councillor Neeson Councillor Genge Councillor Dale |
|-------------------------------|---|
| Staff Present: | Ryan Cronsberry, CAO Harold Lenters, Director of Development Services Dan Buttineau, Director of Community Services Ron Jenkins, Director of Emergency Services/Fire Chief Rob Wheater, Deputy CAO/Treasurer Val Stevens, Director, Library Services/CEO Rachel Dillabough, Town Clerk Mamata Baykar, Deputy Clerk Carolyn Lance, Council Services Coordinator Michael Vos, Manager, Roads Shawn Nastke, Director, Strategic Initiatives Michael Bigioni, Director of Legislative Services, Town Solicitor |

1. CALL TO ORDER- MOMENT OF MEDITATION

"The Town of Georgina recognizes and acknowledges that we are on lands originally used and occupied by the First Peoples of the Williams Treaties First Nations and other Indigenous Peoples, and on behalf of the Mayor and Council, we would like to thank them for sharing this land. We would also like to acknowledge the Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation as our close neighbour and friend, one with which we strive to build a cooperative and respectful relationship.

We also recognize the unique relationship the Chippewas have with the lands and waters of this territory. They are the water protectors and environmental stewards of these lands and we join them in these responsibilities." **Ian Steingaszner**, York Regional Police Pipes and Drums, piped in the Council-Elect accompanied by Roya Canadian Legion Branch #356 Colour Party/Honour Guard, Comrades Walter Mackey, John Lavis and Rod Beswick, and accompanied by Staff Sergeant Major Ret. Bill Eddie of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Rachel Dillabough, Town Clerk, welcomed everyone to the inaugural, congratulated the new Council, acknowledged dignitaries and former members of Council who were present, including Susan Gorman, Chair of Georgina Chamber of Commerce, Maurice James, Superintendent, York Regional Police, Ken Hackenbrook, former Ward Councillor, Ross Jamieson, former Ward Councillor, John Rogers, former Mayor, Walter Schumer, Mayor-elect, Township of Brock, Frank Sebo, outgoing Councillor, Dave Szollosy, former Ward Councillor, Ryan Cronsberry, CAO and Rob Wheater, Deputy CAO and Treasurer. Ms. Dillabough also acknowledged the Town's Senior Leadership Team and staff in attendance

Rachel Dillabough introduced Tammi Carleton who sang the National Anthem at this time.

Rachel Dillabough provided a brief history of the Chain of Office indicating that the chain of office has been worn by civic authorities and elected officials for more than one thousand years.

Rachel Dillabough introduced Michael Bigioni, Town Solicitor, to administer the Declaration of Elected Office and the Oath of Allegiance to Mayor Quirk, after which Rachel Dillabough presented the Chain of Office to Mayor Quirk.

Michael Bigioni, Town Solicitor, administered the Declaration of Elected Official and the Oath of Allegiance to Members of Council;

Regional Council-elect Naomi Davison

Council-elect Charlene Biggerstaff

Council-elect Dan Fellini

Council-elect Dave Neeson

Council-elect Dale Genge

Council-elect Lee Dale

2. ROLL CALL

As noted above

3. DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY INTEREST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

Not applicable

Mayor Quirk, in her inaugural address, acknowledged family and friends and spoke of the challenges and accomplishments of the past Council term, followed

by each member of Council who individually expressed appreciation to their family and friends and their pleasure in representing the Town through their positions on Council.

4. CLOSED SESSION (None)

5. CONFIRMING BY-LAW

Moved By Regional Councillor Davison Seconded By Councillor Genge

That the following bylaw be adopted:

1. Bylaw Number 2022-0101 (COU-2) to confirm proceedings of Special Council, November 15, 2022.

Carried

6. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Moved By Councillor Biggerstaff Seconded By Councillor Dale

That the meeting adjourn at 7:55pm.

Carried

Margaret Quirk, Mayor

Rachel Dillabough, Town Clerk